Dakota Datebook

Creation of Dakota Territory

Saturday, March 2, 2013


During most of the 1850s, the modern-day region of North Dakota belonged to two different territories. Land west of the Missouri River was part of Nebraska Territory. The region east of the Missouri belonged to Minnesota Territory. When Minnesota was granted statehood in 1858, land east of the Missouri was left unorganized while the west remained a part of Nebraska Territory.

Three years later, on this day, March 2, 1861, an act of Congress, signed by President James Buchanan established the Territory of Dakota. When initially created, Dakota Territory consisted of present-day states North Dakota, South Dakota and most of Montana and Wyoming. Two years later, the size of the territory was reduced to the current region of North and South Dakota.

Dakota Datebook written by Christina Sunwall


The Library of Congress: The Northern Great Plains 1880-1920- http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/ndfahtml/ngphome.html


Wayne, Brand L. and James G. Hector, ed. North Dakota Decision Makers (Fargo, ND: Analytical Statistics, Inc; 1972)




This text and audio may not be copied without securing prior permission from Prairie Public.

Dakota Datebook is a project of Prairie Public, in partnership with the State Historical Society of North Dakota, with funding from the North Dakota Humanities Council.

« Go Back

50 Years
A Million Thanks

Public NewsRoom

Log-on and dig deep into the news of the day. It’s all online in our Public NewsRoom.

» Visit the Public NewsRoom

Breaking News

Support Radio

Your contributions make quality radio programming possible.

» Pledge your support today.

Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust