Dakota Datebook

Mixed-Up Towns

Saturday, December 11, 2004

Towner isn’t in Towner County, it’s McHenry County’s seat; the town of McHenry, however, is in Foster County. Cavalier isn’t in Cavalier County; it’s the county seat of Pembina County. Beach is the county seat of Golden Valley County, but Golden Valley is in Mercer County. So is Stanton, Mercer County’s seat, but Mercer, the town, is in McLean County.

Ellendale is the county seat of Dickey County, but the town of Dickey is in Lamour County. Hettinger County’s seat is Mott, but Hettinger, itself, is the county seat of Adams County; the town of Adams, on the other hand, is in Walsh County. Finley is the county seat of Steele County, but Steele, the town, is the seat of Kidder County. And, if you’re not confused enough already, Napoleon is the county seat of Logan County, but Logan, itself, is in Ward County.

Dakota Datebook written by Merry Helm

This text and audio may not be copied without securing prior permission from Prairie Public.

Dakota Datebook is a project of Prairie Public, in partnership with the State Historical Society of North Dakota, with funding from the North Dakota Humanities Council.

« Go Back

50 Years
A Million Thanks

Public NewsRoom

Log-on and dig deep into the news of the day. It’s all online in our Public NewsRoom.

» Visit the Public NewsRoom

Breaking News

Support Radio

Your contributions make quality radio programming possible.

» Pledge your support today.

Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust